GF Hub’s 2023 Annual General Meeting

The Gippsland Forestry Hub held its Annual General Meeting on October 24th, 2023, at the Morwell Innovation Centre, marking a crucial gathering of stakeholders to discuss and plan for the future of the region’s forestry industry.

Chaired by Simon Gatt of AKD, the meeting commenced with a warm welcome. The attendees, including members of the Executive Committee, General Committee, observers and guest speakers, were acknowledged for their presence and contributions.

The meeting revolved around a series of crucial agenda items, including the confirmation of the previous AGM’s minutes, the Chair’s report, the adoption of the Annual Report, the Treasurer’s presentation of audited financial statements, the election of office bearers, and other critical business matters pertinent to the region’s forestry industry.

In his Chair’s report, Simon Gatt highlighted the Hub’s significant progress over the past year, emphasising the importance of the strategic plan and the Hub’s commitment to sustainable growth and development.

Notable presentations by Cr Tom Sullivan on the TIRES report and Matt de Jongh on Responsible Wood and PEFC further enriched the understanding of industry dynamics and environmental sustainability.

The meeting concluded with the team eagerly anticipating the upcoming year’s initiatives and commitments.

The Annual General Meeting served as a testament to the Gippsland Forestry Hub’s commitment to industry excellence and sustainable growth, setting a promising trajectory for the region’s forestry sector in the years to come.

2023/2024 GF Hub Committee:


Executive Commitee General Committee
Chair – Simon Gatt (AKD) Paul Boys (Gippsland Tech)
Vice Chair – Lou Bourke (HVP) Tim Fowler (Heartwood Plantations)
Treasurer – Ian Reid (Austimber) Peter Devonshire (Devtree)
Trevor Nicklen (VicForests) Christy Hoiles (Latrobe City Council)
Tony Cantwell (C4G) Dale Harriman (Stable Engineering)
Steven Zyhajlo (OPAL) Julian Hay (AKD)
Sandy Kam (NTCA) Angela Olarenshaw (Alberton Timber)
Lesia Goodwin (GF Hub General Manager) Luke Olarenshaw (Alberton Timber)
Tony Britton (Radial Timbers)
Observer: Mark Coleman (Wellington Shire)
Deb Kerr (VFPA) Linda Austin (TAFE Gippsland)